On philanthropy: U.N. sustainable development goals falling short

In 2015, the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. It established 17 Sustainable Development Goals that address critical areas of economic, social and environmental development that impact billions of people.

These SDGs were ratified by 193 governments and apply to every country—including the United States.

The categories are: no poverty, zero hunger, good health and well-being, quality education, gender equality, clean water and sanitation, affordable energy, decent work and economic growth, industry, innovation and infrastructure, reduced inequalities, sustainable cities and communities, responsible consumption and production, climate action, life below water, life on land, strong institutions of peace and justice, and partnership to achieve these goals.

Alarmingly, three years into the project’s 15-year timetable, the U.N. reports little progress. Funding is trillions of dollars short. The United States ranks last among the G20 nations in achieving the SDGs and 36th among all the countries in the world.

Read the full story at Wealth Management.
Up Next

The importance of funding innovations that break the mold

Read Now
Editor's note: Stories appearing on NCF's website from third-party contributors are intended for informational purposes only, and we do not endorse or approve the content, services, products, or theological teachings they contain. Any questions or concerns may be directed to the original publisher of such third-party content.

Sign up for our
Saturday 7 email digest

Join close to 50,000 subscribers who receive our email digest of
the week's top stories from We call it Saturday 7.

Read our privacy policy